Bromley Cross FC


Bromley Cross Football was founded in 1981, by Neil Johnstone as Club Secretary, Chairman and Treasurer. Dave Sidey was the Manager of the only team named Volunteer F.C. They played friendly matches, open age football in the Chorley Alliance League in the 1981/82 season.

In the summer of 1982 Jim Dearden joined the club and became manager of the team.

In 1983/84 season the club had two teams in The Chorley Alliance League.

In the 1984/5 season the club changed its name to Bromley Cross Volunteers F.C. and entered an extra team in the Bolton Combination. The team played home matches at Longsight Playing Fields situated behind The Royal Oak Public House.

In 1986 the club changed its name to Bromley Cross Football Club and entered a team in The Bolton Boys Federation. The Manager was B Catterall, Andrew Yates was the Assistant Manager and July Ramwell Club Secretary. The club entered one team in the Chorley Alliance League.

In November 1986 the club acquired John Street Football Ground on a 99 year lease.

In October 1987 Andy Barker became the second Assistant Manager and Neil Johnstone was registered as Secretary to the Chorley League. Alan Cordner took over the post of Secretary.

In 1989 Neil Johnstone registered as Club Secretary of the Bolton Combination League.

In 1990 the club had five youth teams playing in the Bolton Boys Federation and two teams in The Bolton Combination. At this time the club withdrew the two teams playing in the Chorley Alliance League. Neil Johnstone was elected as club Chairman, Neil then resigned this post and was elected as President of the club. Andy Barker was elected as Chairman.

At the end of the 1991 season, the open age teams left The Bolton Combination and registered with The Lancashire Amateur League and played in that league until 1994.

The open age teams were disbanded in 1994 the club concentrating on youth football.

In 1995 Masons Arms FC, later to merge with Bromley Cross FC, was founded by Adam Murphy and David Bowl as an open age Sunday Football team playing in the Bolton Pioneer Sunday Football League.

In 2001 Andy Barker resigned as Club Chairman, Alan McNorton was elected as Club Chairman Paul Heath resigned as Treasurer. Nick Polding who had been collecting monies for Rob Acworth’s team was asked by Alan McNaughton if he would take over the post which he did and continues to this date.

In 2002 Phil Dawson was elected as Club Chairman.

In 2003 the clubs trophies were lost when the Railway Pub was renovated.

In 2004 Lindsay Longthorne was elected as Club Secretary, Judith Dawson volunteered for the post of Child Protection Officer and Phil Bailey the post of School Liaison Officer.

In 2004 a plan was conceived to amalgamate the club with Turton F.C. however this did not take place. Eric Needham was elected as Vice Chairman. At this time the club had 15 teams including girl’s football playing in four leagues.

Jim Dearden moved from the area in 2004 after twenty two years service to the club.

2005 Phil Dawson resigned as Chairman, Lindsay Longthorne, Judith Dawson and Phil Bailey also resigned their posts. This was probably the most difficult time in the clubs history because of the numbers of senior members of the committee resigning at the same time, however the other members of the club pulled together to keep the club from folding until the next AGM.

At the 2005 AGM Neil Johnstone continued as President, Eric Needham was elected as Chairman, Graeme Luxton was elected as Vice Chairman, Ruth Needham was elected as Secretary, Nick Polding continued as Treasurer.

2005 The club decided that no children would be turned away from playing football, up to then the club only recruited two teams which resulted in one eleven a side team.

2006 Forty Children formed five teams at under sevens playing in the Bolton Bury & District Football League. To accommodate these teams and further teams, partnerships where set up with, Turton, Walmsley, Eagley, Edgerton and High Lawn schools for use of their pitches.

2007/8 A development school was set up for under 4s, 5s and 6 year old children. Eric Needham became the club Welfare Officer. The Club changed it venue for meetings from the Railway Public House to the Dunscar Conservative Club to accommodate numbers. Work was carried out on the John Street pitch which included drains and fencing.

In 2008, after 13 seasons as an amateur 'pub' team, Egerton FC (formerly Masons Arms FC) joined Bromley Cross FC to become their Open Age Sunday team.

2008 saw the formation of Bromley Cross Vets team.

2009 The club continued to have each year three or four teams entered in the Bolton Bury & District Football League. The club was awarded Charter Standard award from Football Association. After four years the club got planning permission for its ten football pitches. Work was carried out on the Lancashire Tubes pitch including drains. A Vet’s team joined the club most of the team made up from parents of existing club players. The Vets competed in the Bolton Sports Federation.

2010 The club was awarded Community Charter Standard the highest award from the Football Association.

2011 Neil Johnston died after a long illness. The club became a Charity Trust. Trustees are Eric Needham Chairman, Ruth Needham Secretary, Nick Polding Treasurer, Ian Duncan and Lyndsay Farnworth. Work started on the football pitches with a levelling out phase. Club membership increased to form thirty three teams playing in the Bolton Bury League.

2005-2007 Club Presentation Day was held at a local school, however from 2007 to present year, in order to accommodate numbers in the region of a thousand children and parents the venue was switched to the Last Drop Function Rooms, we have had celebrities such as Jay-Jay Okocha, Kevin Davies and Jussi Jaaskelainen handing trophies to club players.